The Window Lady: SOMA, San Francisco

After the Indie Bazaar was finished, I decided to stand outside in the rain,
and wait for someone to catch my eye. It was mildly raining and water
began to puddle at the corners of the sidewalks, sloshing at everyone’s
feet. The lady above was a vendor at the Indie Bazaar and was busy
talking to her friend outside the doors of the Metreon. I didn’t want to
intrude in their conversation so I waited for 5 minutes…10 minutes… 20.

Eventually, she said her goodbyes and I zeroed in as quickly as I could.

Her: Sure! I remember you! I was wondering why you didn’t take
pictures of my booth :/

There’s something very sweet about this picture. The feeling and the
colors truly embody what it was like to be in San Francisco in the rain. To
have everyone huddled within themselves, grasping for any bit of
warmth. And then there’s this lady: she looks so…free… At first, I thought
she was trying to do some pose with her right hand, but I eventually
concluded that maybe she was hailing a cab. Trying to get a cab while
having your photo taken? Multitasking at it’s best!

In case you haven’t picked up on it already, I’m feeling very bittersweet.
This post right here is the last picture I will ever post from my old
camera. I know I’ve bitched and moaned about it being slow and slightly
unreliable, but as I look back… I’ll miss it. It’s taken me this far and I’ve
had some incredibly memorable shots with it. From the Canon Rebel, to
the Canon 7D. All I can hope for is for me to be a better photographer, and
to capture moments like these. Because in the end, it doesn’t matter if I
shoot with a camera worth $200 or $2,000, all I want is to take pictures
that you’d remember – that way, history can remember me.

Enough of this tear jerker shit! It’s time to kick some ass and add a little
bite
to the fashion blogging community >:)

Leave a comment

Filed under Winter/Fall, Women

Leave a Reply

