What The The Hell Is “Hip Hop” Fashion? – Battlefest Live 360, San Mateo

Some of you might be asking yourself right now “What the shit?! I thought this was a fashion blog? Why
the hell are you covering hip-hop events?! Ranier, you goddamn sellout!”

Ummm, yeaaa…. about that.

I‘ve actually been attending Battlefest for many many years. How many many? This many: IX. But in
all my years at Battlefest, I’ve never taken the time to observe the outfits and styles of the “hip-hop
community.” I mean, what the hell is hip-hop fashion anyways? To kick-start this blog, I present to you:
Urban Terminator.

“I need your tank tops, your high tops, and your sunglasses….”

Urban Terminator, watch out! It’s… uhhhh…..what’s that guy’s name again? OH YEA! It’s: Mumm-Ra!

Damn homie, someone dun blew up yo hair!

That reminds me: one of the things that I noticed about hip-hop style is that, when it comes to outfits, most
of these kids wear pretty normal stuff. Nothing too crazy, or too creative. That’s on a entire outfit, but the
real creativity is seen on their accessories and color choices.

Herro ^-^

No, Mom, it’s not what you think! I’m just looking at uhhh…..uhhhh… it’s FASHION! YEA! It’s this new
eco-friendly collection from the designer named…uhhh…LEO PARD! Yea, that’s it!”

Immaturity aside, I thought this group really went for the jugular. Instead of creating crazy costumes,
they just put all the ladies in matching outfits, but different bras. Truth be told, I actually liked some of
the prints on the bras.

Ya see? This is what I like to see. It’s simple, it works on her, and it just looks
comfy.

And the winner for best dressed dance group goes toooo…….. Funksters!

But of course. I mean, they are based in San Francisco, so it’s almost a given
that they’d be stylish. And now, for the winner of best dressed couple….

THIS ONE!

The way I see it, if you’re gonna color your hair, ya might as well go all out – like this chick.  Doesn’t her hair
remind you of a dreamsicle? It’s so cool! What do you think, Mr. Boyfriend?… Mr. Boyfriend?

Apparently, Mr. Boyfriend was not impressed. But hey! No worries! Now that
they’re on my blog, they’ll be famous! Awww, aren’t they just the cutest
little urban-hip-hop-fashionable-yet-kinda-famous couple? Come on guys,
group hug! ^0^

To be honest, I was a bit disappointed with the show. Not the show itself (which is always amazing), but rather,
the styles. The problem is that, when it comes to being fashionable, you sometimes run the risk of being
uncomfortable.

So what will it be? Wear the ugly sweats that are easy to move around in, or rock the vintage jeans that
suffocate your man bits? Hopefully next year gets better (fashionably), but sometimes, ya gotta
understand what you’re there for: dancing –  not fashion. Until next time, dear Battlefest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Details, Men, Paparazzi Style, Scenes From, Special, Spring, Women

Leave a Reply

