My Love-Hate Relationship With Trying To Be Healthy

I have a serious love-hate relationship with trying to be healthier.

“Woo! Fruit bowls again? This is just… GREAT! It’s so Great!”

On one hand, I love going to the gym. My inner BRAH comes out and with my metaphorical shades on, I can pump away at the weights and feel myself getting allllll kiiiiiinds of gaiinnzzzz. Though I do feel incredibly guilty about staring at myself in the mirror at the gym for much longer than I should, I feel relieved that everyone else does it so…. WEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

However, I hate to say it, but I absolutely miss eating good food. Not even because I don’t have the funds to eat pork belly fried rice and Korean BBQ every week, but I actually crave the hell out of the good bad food. Oh yes, dear, I’m talking about fast food. In the middle of the night, 3am, wired on Facebook and Buzzfeed, there is nothing better than going out for a late night Whopper-run.

“Gotta get my MACROS!”

A warm toasty bun, crisp onions and lettuce, thick and yummy mayo, DAYUM! Too good! And although I’m enjoying this more fit version of myself, I won’t lie, I need to have my good bad food every now and then. So then I thought to myself, “Ranier, what exactly are you gonna do about it? How can you get ripped but still eat your weight in juicy, heavenly burgers and pizza?” Simple: I change my expectations.

Now, hear me out: this might sound like I totally am succumbing to the allure of french fries and pork belly — which I kind of am — but it’s also a realistic approach to my diet and exercise regimen. You see, my body has seen a degree of peaks and troughs and I always seem to jump from one moderate lifestyle to the next. I’ve tried eating breakfast consistently, I’ve tried running for hours, I’ve tried high intensity interval training and many, many years back, I regrettably wheeled my teenage body around a crummy ab roller.

I CAN FEEL IT ALREADY!

I‘m 23 and if I intend on building up my body and finding a method that works, I need to be realistic about what I can do and more importantly, what I can sustain. I’ve tried limiting my body from any fast food or pizza and believe me, in the same way that confiscating a Japanese man’s hentai as punishment will only intensify his desires, I too have desires that simply can’t be avoided. As a result, I’ve been on a quest to determine the right breakdown of how often I can eat shit food, good food and workout, all while maintaining a fit physique and more importantly, my sanity.

But in all reality, this is probably just a very, very, very elaborate excuse that I’ve tricked myself into believing just so I can allow myself to eat Weinershnitzel whenever i want.

“Dude! Dude! Calm Down!…. I’m bulking!”

WHATEVER, BRAH.

1 Comment

Filed under Winter/Fall

One response to “My Love-Hate Relationship With Trying To Be Healthy

  1. Antonio Porchia

    In my experience, desires fade after a strong streak of discipline, usually 3-4 months. Then comes that break-meal, and it all collapses because the body is reminded of what the New Testament was truly talking about.

Leave a Reply

