Update: Am I dead? Where Am I? WHAT THE F*CK IS GOING ON?!

Looking at this picture fills me with loads of joy and intrigue. For a 17 year old kid with zero fashion
experience and absolutely no knowledge of photography, I think I did quite well. Yup, that’s right
folks: my interest in fashion photography dates back many years before for this blog.

At 16, I became fascinated by the world of fashion and the idea that guys – even straight ones – could
be interested and even involved in the process of creating/photographing fashion. I saw it as an art
and I wanted in on the action. So I bought a subscription to GQ, observed the editorials, and honed
my craft (in my head.) The truth is… that picture above? That was the first time I ever worked with
live models. My first fashion photo… ever.

With zero funds and no lighting equipment at hand, I used what I had: I took my model and photographed her inside a raquetball court. The lighting was nice and the backdrop was as neutral as I could get.

I know I haven’t been blogging that much — okay fine –I know I haven’t
been blogging AT ALL… but please hear me out! Back when I made the decision
to leave street fashion, I did so because I felt like I was being fake. I would go to
the city, walk around for hours on end, look for people, photograph them,
grab a bite to eat, then leave San Francisco.

I just felt like I was using my beloved San Francisco to provide me with
content for my blog. I was like that boy from the giving tree: always asking and
never giving back. Never giving myself the freedom to let loose and just enjoy
the city for what the city had to offer. I wasn’t fascinated nor seduced by the
splendor of the concrete jungle. I wasn’t gaining any inspiration from her.
So in order to maintain sanity and keep my love for the city alive, I left.

After modeling in my own photoshoots, I quickly learned that the best outdoor lighting can be achieved on a cloudy day.

As of now, I am in the process of planning various photoshoots with multiple designers. Not only that,
but I also have a few fashion shows to go to, a blogger or two to collaborate with, and tons of video
ideas I want to try out. I’m not doing practice photoshoots or anything, but I am learning. I’m observing,
analyzing, and gathering up information. In essence, I’m doing exactly what I did when I was 16: I’m
honing my craft (inside my head.)

I can’t tell you how excited I am for my upcoming projects. I can’t wait to unveil all of my new ideas
and show you all why I’m here, and why I deserve a second look. I may not be the best technical
photographer, nor am I the most stylish guy in the world, but I do believe I have something. When
I’m in a fashion photoshoot, I honestly believe that I see certain things that many people (within my
skill range) do not. I’m not the type to spray and pray. I don’t just rev up my camera and fire off the
shutter like some crazy gunman, hoping to get a good shot out of many. I wait. I wait for that moment.
That perfect moment to hold my breath, look through the viewfinder, and freeze time. Don’t believe me?

Just you wait.

One of my all time favorites.

Leave a comment

Filed under Special

Leave a comment